Short Story Contest

MM Annual Short Story Contest

Marquette Monthly has hosted an annual Short Story Contest since 1990. It is open to all U.P. fiction writers. A $250 cash prize is awarded to the author of the winning entry, which is also published in the MM.

Contest Guidelines

• All entries must be works of fiction no longer than 2,500 words, never before published, in 12-point Times font, typed and double-spaced
• The author’s name, address and phone number, plus the story’s word count, should be typed on a cover sheet ONLY. The author’s name should not appear on any page of the actual story
• The contest is open to Upper Peninsula residents only
• A $10 entry fee (check or money order) must accompany the submission
• One submission per writer
• Entries will not be returned
• The winning story will be published in the April issue of Marquette Monthly. MM purchases first North American Serial Rights (the author is free to seek further publication and retains copyright)

The deadline is January 31 of each year.
(postmarks or deliveries after this date cannot be accepted)

Send your short story to:
Short Story Contest
Marquette Monthly
810 N. Third St.
Marquette, MI 49855

Past Winners

2014—Eric Hammerstrom, “Fire and Ice” and Jeremy Vavrick,  “Surprise Party”
2013—John Taylor, “Flying Cars”
2012—Don Kilpela, “Gunnar’s Saga,” The True Story of a Modern Day Icelandic Fighting Sheep
2011—Larry Buege, “Frozen Memories” and Thomas P. Suchenek, “Unobstructed View”
2010—Dennis Whitley, “The Unofficial Outpost Olympics”
2009—Meghan Namaste, “A Made Pony”
2008—Eric Hammerstrom, “The Leper Boy”
2007—Joe Secreast, “Angel Shreveport, Where are You Now?”
2006—Mark Wisti, “Casandra”
2005—Timothy J. Bishop, “What We Agree On”
2004—Matthew Gougeon, “Making Payment”
2003—Matthew Williams, “Golden Chance”
2002—Todd McCann, “Lunker”
2001—Amy Armstrong-Markantoy, “A Day of Reckoning”
2000—Mac MacDevitt, “Elysia’s Gift”
1999—Clare Mishica, “The Secret”
1998—Beverly Matherne, “The Tobacco Shed”
1997—Ann Marie Kelley, “Why I Left Ameryka”
1996—Tom Holliday, “Laugh or Cry”
1995—Todd McCann, “The Way Things Happen” & Mary Emerick, “Fire Season”
1994—Mac MacDevitt, “Opening”
1993—Robert Davis, “Pushki: A Chekovian Parody”
1992—David Anthony, “Bus Ride”
1991—Sandra Inskeep-Fox, “Pieces” & Linda Sue Hudson, “Lower Than a Dog Walks”